Can a 12 Year Old Get a Job in Florida

Can a 12 year old in Florida get a job? Most kids under 18 in Florida ask this question right now.

Florida child labor laws permit children as young as ten to deliver newspapers, while 12 year olds can work on farms or in their family’s non-hazardous business.   At any age, minors may work in the entertainment industry. Certain restaurant and retail jobs are appropriate for minors seeking employment in Florida.

Table of Contents

How to Get a Florida Work Permit

Most teens in Florida don’t realize how easy it is to get a work permit, but the whole process can be hard to understand if you’ve never done it before. This is why we made this page, which tells you everything you need to know to get a work permit in Florida. If you’re under 16 and want to work part-time at any company, you need a work permit. If you follow what we’ve said here, you’ll have a job in no time.

Florida’s minimum age to work

It probably doesn’t come as a surprise that Orlando has more visitors than any other place in the country with amusement parks. This is great news for teenagers looking for work. There are a lot of service jobs in Orlando and other parts of the state. Teenagers are lucky that Florida does not have a minimum age to work. However, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets 14 as the minimum age for most jobs that are not in agriculture.

If you are 14 or older and want to work in Florida, it is pretty easy to get a job. Since the federal government doesn’t require work permits, young people in Florida don’t need to get one before looking for work in the state. If a young person wants to work, all they have to do is look for a job. Employers do have to follow teen labor laws, though. To learn more about teen labor laws in Florida, click here.

Florida (FL) Quick Reference Table

AgeSummary of Requirements
14-15Work Permits are mandatory for all working minors. Employers are required to keep Work Permits on file for each underage employee.
16-17Work Permits are necessary for all minors seeking employment. Employers must keep Work Permits on file for each minor they hire.
18-20Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
21Able to serve alcohol for consumption. No restrictions.

Child Labor Laws Summer Jobs for Florida Teens FAQs for Florida Families and Businesses

FOR EMPLOYERS:

 1.Does the Child Labor Law require employers to post information about it?

Employers who hire minors must put up a sign about the Child Labor Law in a place where it can be easily seen on the property or at the place of work. Child labor posters can be found on the DBPR website or by calling 1.800.226.2536, which is the number for Child Labor Compliance.

2. What papers do employers have to keep on file for people under 18?

Employers must keep waiver authorizations (for minors who work during the school year), proof of age documents, and proof of exemption from minor status for all employees under 18. These records have to be kept for as long as the minor is working. If you are not exempt from the FLSA, you must keep the records until the minor turns 19.

3.Does an employer need permission from a parent to hire a child?

Employers don’t have to get permission from a child’s parents to hire them if the child is under 18. But we strongly suggest that employers involve the parents in the process.

4.Is it always necessary to take a 30-minute break after working four hours straight?

No. The Florida Child Labor Law, Chapter 450, Part I, Florida Statutes, says that minors can’t work more than four hours straight without a 30-minute break.

5. How can employers find out more about what the law says about hiring children?

If an employer wants to learn more about the Child Labor Law, they can call the Bureau of Child Labor at 1.800.226.2536 and ask for training.

FOR TEENS AND PARENTS:

1. Do people under the age of 18 need a work permit or other papers to work?

 No, work permits and/or working papers are not needed in Florida. Schools and government agencies in Florida do not give out work permits and/or working papers. Unfortunately, a lot of popular places that hire teens have applications that say, “If you are under 18, can you provide a work permit?” Businesses that have operations in other states that do need work permits use these applications. In Florida, the question doesn’t make sense.

2. How are a waiver and a permit different from each other?

A waiver is a request by a minor to be exempt from some parts of the Child Labor Law because they think the law is against their best interests or because they need to work because of their life situation. The Child Labor Program or a minor’s public high school can help them get a waiver.

3. How many hours can a minor work when school is in session and how many hours can they work when school is out?

14- and 15-year-olds can work up to 15 hours a week when school is in session (seven-day period). This includes up to three hours a day on school days, up to eight hours on Saturday and Sunday, and up to eight hours on days that are not school days and do not follow a school day. They can work from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., but they can’t work when public schools are open.

14- and 15-year-olds can work up to eight hours a day and 40 hours a week between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. from June 1 to Labor Day. When public school is in session, 16- and 17-year-olds can’t work before 6:30 a.m., after 11 p.m., or for more than 8 hours per day. They also can’t work during school hours or before or after school.

These time limits do not apply on days when there is no school, during weeks when there is no school, or during the summer. When there is no school the next day, like on Friday, Saturday, or the day before a holiday, 16- and 17-year-olds can work until the end of their shift. Example: A minor’s shift starts at 6 p.m. on Saturday and ends at 1 a.m. on Sunday.

This doesn’t break the rule that says minors can’t work before 6:30 a.m. when they have school the next day, because the minor is finishing his shift on Saturday and isn’t starting a shift before 6:30 a.m. on Sunday. When school is in session, 16- and 17-year-olds can’t work more than 30 hours per week. During the summer and other times when they are not in school, they can work as many hours as they want.

4. How old does a child have to be to work?

To work, a child must be 14 years old. Children who work in a non-hazardous job for their parents’ business are exempt, as are children who are 10 years old and deliver newspapers, work as pages in the Florida Legislature, or are approved to work in the entertainment industry.

5. How do I market myself as a strong job candidate when employers say they won’t hire teens because they can’t work?

Remind employers that teens are great workers who will work less hours when shifts are short, especially during the holidays and for seasonal jobs. Visit the website for your area of Career Source Florida and the Employ Florida Marketplace to find announcements for summer jobs and internships. Go to places that usually hire teens and ask for an application. Even if they can’t give you a full-time job, weekend work would help you get your foot in the door.

6. What are some common reasons not to work?

The Child Labor Law doesn’t limit how many hours a minor can work if they are married, have graduated from an accredited high school or have a high school equivalency diploma, have served in the military, or have a court order to work.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

How old do you have to be to get a job in Florida?

4 rows · Child labor laws in Florida say that kids as young as 14 can start working. The government…

Can a 14-year-old in Florida get a job?

Florida’s child labor laws set the ages, times, and types of work that people under the age of 17 can do in the state. In general, 16- and 17-year-olds can work in a wide range of jobs, but they can’t do jobs that the state of Florida says are too dangerous. 14- and 15-year-olds can work in a wide range of jobs, but their choices are very limited.

How old do you have to be to work in Florida if you are under 18?

Teenagers are lucky that Florida does not have a minimum age to work. However, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets 14 as the minimum age for most jobs that are not in agriculture. If you are 14 or older and want to work in Florida, it is pretty easy to get a job.

Is it easy for teens to get jobs in Florida?

Jun 21, 2019 · Limits on hours. Florida law limits how much kids ages 14 to 17 can work and makes it illegal for kids under 14 to work, with a few exceptions. Both the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Florida law limit when and how many hours kids under 16 can work. 16–17-year-olds can work up to 30 hours per week.

Can I work in Florida when I’m 14?

Child labor laws in Florida say that kids as young as 14 can start working. The state doesn’t require people under 18 to have a work permit, but they do need to show proof of age to their employers before they can do certain jobs.

Can kids as young as 15 work in Florida?

Youth ages 14 and 15 can work in a wide range of jobs, but they are limited in how many hours they can work each day and week, especially when school is in session. Children who are 13 or younger are not allowed to work in Florida, with a few exceptions.

At 14, can you work?

Employment laws are different in each state, so some companies may hire 14-year-olds and 15-year-olds in some states but not in others. Remember this as you look over the list below. Check out our information to find out what you need to know before you apply. Apr 20, 2022

How many hours can someone who is 13 work?

13- to 14-year-olds can only work up to 5 hours a day, or 25 hours a week during the summer. 15–16-year-olds can only work up to 8 hours a day and 35 hours a week during the summer. Feb 9, 2021

Can you work in Florida at age 13?

How old must a person be to work? To work, a child must be 14 years old. Children who work in a non-hazardous job for their parents’ business are exempt, as are children who are 10 years old and deliver newspapers, work as pages in the Florida Legislature or are approved to work in the entertainment industry.

How old do you have to be in Florida to work at Chick-Fil-A?

The youngest person who can work at Chick-fil-A is 16 years old. (What’s the minimum age to work at Chick Fil A?) Yes, you can print it out. You can print a Chick-fil-A application (PDF) or look for jobs.

Can u get a job at 13?

Yes, 13-year-olds can work. That’s the short answer. Sorry, but you have to stay in school. It is against the law to stop going to school and get a full-time job before you turn 18. If you are 13 and want to work, you can’t do so during school hours, before 7 a.m., or after 7 p.m.

 How can a 14-year-old make money?

 7 Best Ways for a 14-year-old to Make Money Online:

  • Online surveys. One of the most popular ways for teens to make money online today seems to be by taking online surveys.
  • Watch the commercials.
  • You can sell things online.
  • Online lessons….
  • Freelancing. …
  • Sell graphic designs. …
  • Start a blog or an account on YouTube.

Can people under 16 work?

As a general rule, a 14-year-old can get a part-time job before they turn 16 and leave school. But they can only be hired to do what is called “light work.” This means they can’t work at any job that could hurt their health or safety or get in the way of their schooling. Nov 8, 2017

When are kids old enough to be left alone?

Never leave babies, toddlers, and other very young children alone. Children under 12 aren’t usually old enough to handle themselves in an emergency, so they shouldn’t be left at home alone for a long time. Children under 16 shouldn’t be left alone overnight. NSPCC website.

Can a 15-year-old get a job?

How much can kids who are 15 work? You can work as a 15-year-old between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. On non-school days, you can work for up to eight hours, except on Sundays, when you can only work for up to two hours. When school is in session, you can: Away from school. Feb 11, 2021

How early can you start work?

As a general rule, the FLSA sets 14 as the minimum age to work, and minors under 16 can only work a certain number of hours per week.

Teens in the Sunshine State need to know how to work.

Teens who want to work in Florida do not need a child employment certificate, but they do need to show proof of age. There, 14- and 15-year-olds can work up to 15 hours per week, but not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m., and they can’t work more than three hours on school days that are followed by another school day.

Jobs and situations that minors are not allowed to do

Like most other states, Florida has laws that mostly keep young people from doing dangerous jobs. For example, 14- to 15-year-olds may not work jobs that require them to drive cars or run machines that are powered by electricity. They can’t work in construction either unless it’s in an office job.

In conclusion, Before saying “yes” to a job, it’s important for teens to check the law to make sure they can legally work the number of hours their employer wants. Visit the Florida state labor website to learn more about working as a minor in the state.

What does it mean for a person to be a child or a minor in Florida?

Under Florida’s child labor laws, a child or minor is anyone younger than 17 years old, unless one of the following is true:

Does Florida need a child to prove who they are and how old they are to get a job?

Employers who hire people who are 17 years old or younger, including those who are not considered children or minors by Florida’s child labor laws, must get proof of the child’s age and keep it on file as long as the child is working. Employers can meet this requirement if they hire and keep:

What are the rules for people who are 16 and 17?

There are parts of Florida’s child labor laws that are just for 16- and 17-year-olds. These include rules about when 16- and 17-year-olds can work, how many hours they can work in a week, and what jobs or occupations they can do.

What are the rules for people ages 14 and 15?

There are parts of Florida’s child labor laws that are just for 14- and 15-year-olds. These include rules about when 14- and 15-year-olds can work, how many hours they can work in a week, and what jobs or occupations they can do.

Can places that sell alcohol hire people who are underage?

Florida’s child labor laws say that no one under the age of 17 can work anywhere that sells alcoholic drinks to the public. This includes people who aren’t considered children or minors by Florida’s child labor laws, as explained above.

Can adult entertainment establishments hire minors?

Florida’s child labor laws say that no one under the age of 17 can be hired, allowed, or forced to work in an adult theater, as defined by Florida Statute 847.001 (2). This includes people who aren’t considered children or minors by Florida’s child labor laws (b).

How old do you have to be in Florida to get a job?

If you are 14 or older and want to work in Florida, it is pretty easy to get a job. Since the federal government doesn’t require work permits, young people in Florida don’t need to get one before looking for work in the state.

How old do you have to be to get a job in Florida?

Teenagers are lucky that Florida does not have a minimum age to work. However, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets 14 as the minimum age for most jobs that are not in agriculture.

Is a work permit easy to get in Florida?

Most teens in Florida don’t realize how easy it is to get a work permit, but the whole process can be hard to understand if you’ve never done it before.

How old do you have to be in Michigan to get a work permit?

Employers of kids under 18 must keep proof of their age. 7 Michigan . A minor 16 years old or older who has graduated from high school or gotten a high school equivalency certificate and given a copy of the certificate to the employer does not need a work permit.

Does a 16-year-old need a work certificate?

For 16- and 17-year-olds, there is no need for a work certificate. Instead, employers must keep on file a signed letter from the child’s parent or legal guardian giving permission for the child to work. 16- and 17-year-olds can get proof of age from the Department of Safety. North Carolina number 12.

How old do you need to be in Florida to get a work permit?

You can get a work permit in Florida if you are 14 or 15, but other than that, there isn’t much on this page that will help you. So, if you’re under 16 and don’t have a work permit, please choose your age below to find jobs for your age group.

Can teens work in Florida?

In Florida, teenagers can spend a lot of time on the beach getting a tan or in the water doing things like water skiing. But the idea of getting a job and making money is appealing to many teens. Florida has a 4.7% unemployment rate, which means that teenagers who want to work can find jobs there.

What do teens do in Florida?

In Florida, teenagers can spend a lot of time on the beach getting a tan or in the water doing things like water skiing. But for many teens, the idea that…

Age of Majority in Florida

In Florida, you have to be 18 to be an adult. This means that when you turn 18, you get almost all of the legal rights that adults have. Some of them are the right to vote and the ability to get a driver’s license without permission from their parents. When you turn 18, you get more responsibilities, like being able to be sued in court and having to serve on a jury.

What’s the minimum age to get a job?

Congrats! As a legal adult, you can work any job or any number of hours you want. If you are 18 or older, you are old enough to work legally.

RECOMMENDED: Is Revature a Good Company to Work For

Is it okay for a teen to work part time?

That’s just fine! Teenagers’ part-time jobs aren’t always meant to be the best paying or most fulfilling jobs. Any job you have as a teenager will probably be a stepping stone for you, a way to make a little money and get some work experience while you’re still in school. But!

Can a 14-year-old find a job?

Yes, 14- and 15-year-olds are legally allowed to work. But as a younger teen, you are also subject to the rules about what you can and can’t do on the job.

How much time can a teen work?

First of all, you can only work a certain number of hours. In a school week, you can’t work more than 18 hours. On school days, you can’t work more than three hours.

In a school week, how many hours can you work?

In a school week, you can’t work more than 18 hours. On school days, you can’t work more than three hours. You’ll be glad to hear that these hours are longer in the summer and when schools are closed. You can work up to 40 hours a week and 8 hours a day during those breaks.

Leave a Comment